Ramsar has declared 10 more wetland sites from India

Mr. Javadekar, Minister of Environment,Forest and Climate change said in a tweet “Happy to inform that Ramsar has declared 10 more wetland sites from India as sites of international importance for the conservation of global biological diversity,” 

“It is an acknowledgement of India’s commitment towards conservation and sustainable use of its wetlands.” Mr. Javadekar said in another tweet.

The 10 new wetland sites are Nandur Madhameshwar, a first for Maharashtra; Keshopur-Miani, Beas Conservation Reserve and Nangal in Punjab; and Nawabganj, Parvati Agra, Saman, Samaspur, Sandi and Sarsai Nawar in Uttar Pradesh. The other Ramsar sites are in Rajasthan, Kerala, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Assam, West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Manipur, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu and Tripura.

Ramsar Convention:

The Convention, signed in 1971 in the Iranian city of Ramsar, is one of the oldest inter-governmental accord for preserving the ecological character of wetlands. Also known as the Convention on Wetlands, it aims to develop a global network of wetlands for conservation of biological diversity and for sustaining human life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoyed Archinews Daily? Please spread the word :)